2011 Best in the Desert Season Opener This Weekend

| January 7, 2011

Parker 250Best in the Desert was one of the very first organized sanctioning bodies that recognized UTV’s as a valid class of race vehicle.  With multiple conversations about where they belong on the starting grid and what the guidelines should be for the vehicles, the class has grown since the first year they ran in 2007.

Tomorrow is the first race of the 2011 Best in the Desert season, and it is stacked with big names in the UTV class.  The entry list, that used to be just 3-5 names long, now almost completes a full page.

The Jagged X Polaris team has dominated the class every year in their Polaris RZR.  They have successfully captured the UTV Best in the Desert Title four consecutive years: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010.  Driver Brandon Schueler is excited to get to navigate a new Polaris RZR900 for this season, and hopes to maintain the championship status.

The Green flag will drop tomorrow morning for the following teams!  Good Luck to All!

1904 Cory Sappington (46) Peoria, AZ,
Jeanette Sappington (45) Peoria, AZ,
Donovan Cain (29) Glendale, AZ,
Desert Toyz Yamaha

1905 Ron Palhegyi (66) Sonora, CA,
Jex Baldwin (26) Sonora, CA,
David Rodgers (49) Sonora, CA,
Hannah Rodgers (16) Sonora, CA,

1911 Scott Martinez (43) Alpine, CA,
Robert Friar (43) Lakeside, CA,
Fox Racing, PRP Seats, Douglas Wheels, Odyssey, FMF Racing

1915 Bobby Raber (35) Prescott, AZ,
Raber Racing, Kawasaki

1917 Jason Murray (28) Downey, CA,
Derek Murray (30) Downey, CA,
Sunset Vans, ITP, Desert Toyz, Delta 9 Techniglove, Electrick Motorsports, Yamaha

1919 Brandon Schueler (21) Phoenix, AZ,
Chad Riccio (36) Phoenix, AZ,
Mike West (42) Peoria, AZ,
Jagged X, Polaris, CR Designs, Elka, OMF, Vision X, Simpson, S&S Off-Road, MTA West, Robby Gordon Offroad, Tire Balls, ATL, Trophy Engineering, Fullbore, Polaris

1924 Michael Lasher (31) Riverside, CA,
Rick Wallace (56) Oakhills, CA,
Monster Energy, Kawasaki, GBC Motorsports, Walker Evans, XMF, K&N, Muzzys, Offroad Press.com, Kawasaki

1925 Thomas Ward (34) Bakersfield, CA,
Cale Ward (18) Bakersfield, CA,
Xtreme Metal Fabrication, Madhouse Motorsports, Polaris

1927 Austin Anderson (21) Scottsdale, AZ,
Rick Hauersperger (24) Phoenix, AZ,
A.T.’s Electric, Jagged Extreme, Polaris

1929 Jeff Furnell (41) Lake Havasu City, AZ,
Jeffrey Furnell (16) Lake Havasu City, AZ,
Dylan Winwood (17) Lake Havasu City, AZ,
Artic Air Inc., Dirty Dawg Performance, Rockstar Motorsports, Pit Bull Tire, Makin Trax Suspension

1931 Jessi Kohrell (33) Highland, CA,
Kevin Kohrell (33) Highland, CA,
Tammy Faulkner (37) Cherry Valley, CA,
Custom Creations, B&B Powder Coating, Wicked Built Sick Cams, PRP, Summer Bros, Web Cam, DJ Saftey, Rialto Trophy, IMS Metal, Starside Designs, Kawasaki

1932 Matt Parks (47) Newport Beach, CA,
Andrew Morris (28) San Diego, CA,
Walker Evans Shocks & Wheels, Holz Racing, Maxxis, Kroyer, Muzzy, Mastercraft, Valley Cycle – Bakersfield Polaris

1938 Brian Thomas (45) Lake Havasu City, AZ,
Holly Thomas (49) Lake Havasu City, AZ,
Robert Anderson (43) Riverside, CA,
OMF, Joel’s T’s, WebCam Racing, Pit Bull Tires, Grandpa Thomas, Polaris

1939 Justin Sheakley (26) Glendale,
AZ, Xtreme Machine & Fab 2x Motorsports, PDM of AZ, Hiper Racing Wheels, UTV Powersports, American Energy Mgmt, Dad, EST Motorsports,Yamaha

1943 Yancey Reynolds (33) Hope, AR,
Stephanie A. Reynolds (39) Hope, AR,
Jerry Damon Hampton (40) Texakara, AR,
Ricky Robinson (42) Wickes, AZ,
O-No Racing, HRI Powersports, Tireball, Turner Cycle, Vision X Lighting, Polaris

1950 Sean Lindberg (36) Las Vegas, NV,
Steve Lindberg (31) Las Vegas, NV,
Gabe Guerin (37) Las Vegas, NV,
Robert Erosky (17) Las Vegas, NV,
KingPin Motorsports, Gecko Signs & Wraps, Butch’s Speed Shop, Sin City, Fightgear, Amsoil, Yamaha


1992 William Morris (60) Bakersfield, CA,
David Prothero (37) Bakersfield, CA,
Ram Construction & Concrete Inc, Valley Cycle Motorsports, Bruce Mabrey Construction, Metal Hous Dangerous Designs


1951 Mark Turner (45) Phoenix, AZ,
Don McMillan (42) Phoenix, AZ,
Daystar Products, Walker Evans Wheels, Maxxis, Mastercraft, EST, Yamaha

(List updated 1/3/11 as per www.bitd.com)

Twitter Facebook Youtube RSS

Tags: ,

Category: Event/Series Announcements

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.